Castlemaine 2

Dates 6 – 7 October, 1973
Guest of Honour Piero Taruffi (Silver Fox)
Feature Aurelia B20


Rally Poster


Rally Notes

After the success of the first Castlemaine Rally it was decided that a rally at Castlemaine would be held every two years. A “committee” of sorts was formed to run the rallies and Darrell Waddell made his presence felt. He donated his skills as a graphic artist to produce our first poster and a metal plaque both bearing an image of Charlie Dean almost on two wheels in his B20 Aurelia in the bowl at the now defunct Lakelands Hillclimb. These made a splendid gift for the entrants. The first rally had provided a great deal of publicity and there were more members of the Register and more entrants in 1973.

Paul Vellacott knew Piero Taruffi because he had bought his B 20 Aurelia. Paul suggested that we invite Piero to be our first international Guest of Honour. Piero accepted, which started a long string of international dignitaries attending our rallies as Guest of Honour. Piero had raced from 1927 till the last Mille Miglia in 1957, which he won, and had a remarkable memory of the events in which he had participated. He was a true Italian, enjoying partying at Felix Cappy”s Devonshire Arms Hotel (which had been re-located into Felix’s back yard) till the early hours of the morning.

The format for future rallies was established with a tour on Saturday, dinner on Saturday night with a shorter tour to lunch and a not too serious originality concours on Sunday. On this occasion there were 95 members and guests at the dinner. On Sunday morning we all crowded into Jack Cock’s shed to view his partly restored 1921 Di-Kappa (the only one in the world) on the way to the Fryerstown Oval where 11 Lambdas, including every model from 1st to 8th series, were assembled. This was unique in the world at that time. The gathering of Lancias included Aurelias, Flaminias, Fulvias and Flavias. Bill Guy from Canberra won the concours in his 7th series Lambda, Clive Beattie was awarded best pre-war non-Lambda for his Di-Lambda Saloon, Darrel Waddell won the Aurelia Trophy for his 1958 B24 Spyder (one of three Aurelias he entered) and Ken Lang won the Post Aurelia Trophy with his 1970 Fulvia Coupe HF 1.3. The success of the second rally gave the committee confidence that there would be continuing support for the event.

Notes provided by Russell Meehan



Class Winner Category Information
Pre-Aurelia Lance Milne
Beattie Trophy Darrel Waddell, B12, B20 and B24
Post Aurelia Award Ken Lang, Fulvia HF
Head Gasket Competition Lance Milne
Principal Trophy Ian Mangan, Aurelia B20 A handsome cup donated by Lancia & C. Turin

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *